Home » Uncategorized » New recipe: Chicken Curry

New recipe: Chicken Curry

So everyone once in a while I like to try new foods…ok actually I hate eating the same things all the time. I have a hard time deciding what to get in a restaurant because I would prefer to try something new, yet so often I am disappointed. I was on pinterest  and found a recipe for chicken curry that didn’t require coconut milk (mainly because I had none in the house and didn’t want to go grocery shopping). I took what was there and of course made it my own, another problem I have. I don’t like to follow recipes to the letter….which for cooking works, for baking not so much!

So here’s the masterpiece:

Photo Jan 22, 6 25 38 PM

I served it with some brown rice. To be honest it was just OK. I made it on Tuesday in the crock pot and enjoyed the smells all day long, but when it came time to eat I was slightly disappointed. I had it for lunch today and actually think it’s better a few days later. It may be better today because I drained some of the sauciness from it. Overall that was my major complaint it was a runny sauce instead of being think, which is what I usually think of when I think curry. I give the total experiment a 3 out of 5 stars.

Chicken Curry:
2 lbs of chicken thighs
1 small onion (diced)
3 cloves garlic (diced)
Diced Tomatoes (whole can)
ground ginger (2TBS)
Curry paste (1TBS)
Black Pepper (1tsp)
Cumin (2tsp)
1/2 c water

Combine all ingredients in crock pot except for the chicken. Mix well, add chicken and toss to coat. Cook on low 8 hours.

Thoughts?

