Home » Uncategorized » Restaurant Review: GreyStone Grill

Restaurant Review: GreyStone Grill

Last weekend I visited GreyStone Grill for restaurant week. It was an interesting setup, being a fairly nice, moderately priced restaurant in a business park. Also it’s actually the bottom floor of an office building. Columbia never ceases to amaze me where they put restaurants. When you walk in the door you are truly transformed into a cozy, relaxing place. They have a fountain just past the hostess desk, and the bar is on the right with the majority of dining on the left. Some of the table are setup slightly weird, but my guess cozy for couples. Since it was girl friend and I we were not trying to get cozy with each other.

We started off our meal with the Calamari Rockefeller: Tender calamari lightly breaded and sautéed with fresh garlic, peppered bacon, chopped spinach, and diced tomato. Yes it was just as tasty as the description sounded! Next up was the salad course, I had a Classic Caesar, dressing on the side, and was delighted with the flavor and portion size. For the main course I chose the Filet Oscar, served over asparagus with jumbo lump crab meat. It also came with hollandaise sauce but I opted out of that (not really a fan), but afterwards I think I would have preferred a bit more flavor. The steak was cooked to my liking, medium rare, but didn’t have a whole lot of flavor. The asparagus was tasty! It also came with spaghetti squash as the vegetable. I enjoyed that as well, especially since it’s not really something I make myself.  Here are a shot of my dinner:

Photo Jan 18, 6 35 55 PM

We finished the meal with Crème Brulée: vanilla bean egg custard topped with caramelized sugar crust. To be honest it confirmed my eh feeling towards the dessert. I know many people rave, but I feel like I don’t love the custard texture so it’s just not something for me. I did enjoy the caramelized sugar crust though.

Overall I would give the restaurant a 2.5 out of 5 stars. I feel like if I am going to a place like Greystone I would rather go to Iron Bridge Wine Company, my favorite “nicer” restaurant.

Thoughts?

