Home » Uncategorized » Surprising food fail

Surprising food fail

As you know I love trying new recipes and usually I am pretty successful, last night I was not!! Shocker I know but hey we all have bad days. I sat all day smelling the amazing chicken cooking in the crockpot with the buffalo sauce and just couldn’t wait to have some. I was planning ahead for a Super Bowl party and decided to make the buffalo chicken taquitos on my day working from home.

Friday was ridiculously productive! Got up early and went to Wegman’s before all the crazy people got there, I was in and out in 20 minutes. I even stopped off for gas before heading home. Then I made some breakfast and waited. What was I waiting for? The Howard county inspector to come and ok my newly installed heater/AC unit. Thankfully he was there by 10:05! He was literally there 5 minutes and then he was gone. Thankfully I have an awesome boss so I was able to work from home the whole day. So as I was being productive work wise I was also productive house wise. I did 4 loads of laundry and sat and smelled the yummy buffalo. I even managed a workout video after working all day.

So back to the taquitos…in the crockpot went 1lb chicken, half bottle of Frank’s buffalo sauce, ranch dressing packet and a small amount of chicken broth to coat the chicken. I love this so much because you can even use frozen chicken (which I did). After about 8 hours it was time to shred the chicken. Just as predicted it was delish! I knew it would be the perfect start to my taquitos.

So fast forward a few hours and I decided to make them for dinner and for the party. I of course had to eat the buffalo chicken that day, the whole house smelled like it!

So I got started…first up warm the tortillas, then fill with chicken and cheese. Sounds amazing right? How can you go wrong? I am not really sure, except maybe I over cooked or should have used flour instead of corn tortillas. I made 14 taquitos, which was almost the entire pot of chicken. In the oven they went for 25 minutes, after spraying with cooking spray.

They smelled tasty, they looked yummy, they tasted like crap. Ok maybe not crap since I have never eaten that, but they were NOT GOOD!

I tried one and thought it was a fluke, so I tried 3 more each time hoping for a better result and each time disappointed. I think for sure they cooked too long because the shells were too hard to bite into…the inside chicken mixture still tasted amazing though. I am a bit sad because I feel like I wasted a pound of chicken and I am disappointed because now I need to go back to the drawing board. I guess you can’t trust everything you find on the Internet 🙂

Thoughts?

