Home » Uncategorized » Wacky Wednesday

Wacky Wednesday

So no real focus of today’s post just a bit of wacky things I have been thinking about. First off the weather….yesterday and Sunday I ran outside because it was nearly 50 degrees…today we get the dreaded wintery mix! Living in the DC area is always so weird for weather. One day it’s 30 (with wind chills in the teens) next day it’s 50. I guess it’s better than living where it’s always cold in the winter since I truly am NOT a winter person. I love warm sunshine.

In yesterday’s run (and I think it started Sunday) my toe on my right foot next to my big toe (is that your pointer toe?) has decided not to cooperate. It just plain hurts. I think I may have the dreaded black toe nail forming that is common for many runners….WooHoo. I am trying to remember this mantra: Pain is weakness leaving the body!

pain2

I need to run today (again) and I am thinking about doing Zumba. I know I sound crazy, but it’s Zumba toning so it’s a strength workout of sorts too, not just cardio workout. I keep telling myself it will all be worth it and I will continue to see differences. pain 1

Finally tomorrow is Valentine’s Day…the made up holiday by Hallmark. I really try not to get caught up in the hype of it all. I actually have someone to celebrate with this year, and we are choosing the easy, comfortable route of making dinner at home together. Of course as I hear about all the “people” making plans part of me wants to be that kind of person. The kind that gets dressed up, goes out all fancy and is part of the hype, but at the end of the day I know none of that will really make me happy. I will be cranky with the crowds, cold because it’s winter, and the food rarely is as good as you hoped…oh and I hate getting dressed up when it’s cold outside. So I am excited about my plans for tomorrow and I know the boy and I will have a nice evening at home, but yet the draw for the unknown is there too. So I choose to be happy, I choose to be excited and I choose to smile!

smile

 

 

Thoughts?

