Home » Uncategorized » Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe

Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe

Well we all know I ❤ pinterest! Of course I used it to find a recipe to make for dinner tonight. I wish I was prepped and took pictures because this was AWESOME!! I am very critical of the food I make, so if it didn’t turn out great I would have said so. I also made fried rice again, that wasn’t as great but my guests enjoyed.

Speaking of guests, it was the first time I was cooking dinner for my future mother-in-law and my fiancee! So it was a big deal, and brave of me to try a new dish. . . but I am pretty confident that most of the food I make comes out pretty good. I can’t say the same for my baked goods.

Here’s the recipe (with my modifications)

Sweet and Sour Chicken (original recipe can be found at: http://madeitateitlovedit.blogspot.com/2012/03/sweet-and-sour-chicken.html)

Start by preheating the oven to 350 and put the oil in your skillet.

Chicken Breading:

  • 1-1.5 pounds of boneless skinless chicken breast
  • salt and pepper ( I added garlic too)
  • 1 cup cornstarch
  • 2 eggs, beaten (this was a little think, I would add water next time)
  • 1/3 cup canola oil ( didn’t have any so I used olive, but sesame would have been really good too)
Rinse chicken, trim off fat or extras and then cut into 1 inch cubes. season with salt and pepper. Dip chicken into cornstarch and coat all the way and then into eggs. Heat oil in large skillet. Cook chicken until browned. Place in baking dish, 9 X13 works best.

Sauce:

  • 3/4 cups sugar
  • 4 Tablespoons ketchup
  • 1/2 cup white distilled vinegar
  • 1 Tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic salt
Whisk until smooth. Then pour evenly over chicken. Turn chicken so the sauce gets on both sides and then put in the oven at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. turn chicken and then cook for 15 more minutes.
Let me know how it goes if you decide to try it! It was a big hit at my house.
One thought on “Sweet and Sour Chicken Recipe

  1. Pingback: High Five for Friday, #4 | Thirty-Something Lindy

Thoughts?

